Cape Cod Wanderings

by becauseijustdo

Sesuit Harbor

Lobster Buoys at Sesuit Harbor.

At the end of July we took a family trip to Cape Cod to celebrate the 50th Birthday of my husband’s cousin, Deirdre.  Luckily, after a great party we got to spend the rest of the week alongside beautiful Sesuit Harbor in East Dennis, MA.  One glorious afternoon while my husband took my son and his cousins fishing I went on a little adventure with my camera.  I’m blown away by Cape Cod; how amazingly green and lush it is, how undeveloped much of it has remained and how entirely different Cape Cod Bay is from the Pacific.  It is quintessentially American… the cedar-shingled homes, Old Glory flying around every corner, roadside eateries with delicious, fresh seafood and an undeniable sense of history that oozes from every brackish pond.  It’s only my second time on the Cape but I can understand why generations of families find themselves heading back here year after year.

Pleasant Street

The beautiful home we stayed in near the corner of Pleasant and Sea Street.

Along my meandering path I came across the peaceful Quivet Neck cemetery, a sweet bench inviting strangers to take it easy, insanely colored hydrangeas, gorgeous homes,  tunnels of trees, a harbor full of boats, shimmering sea grass and even some patriotic lawn flamingos.  I hope you enjoy my photographic journey as much I treasure that solo day discovering Quivet Neck.

Quivet Neck1

Quivet Neck’s tree-lined streets.

treasures

Fun finds in the neighborhood.

Quivet Neckhouses

A few of my favorite Quivet Neck homes.

hydrangea

Pink and purple hydrangeas.

Sesuit Harbor

Sesuit Harbor.

Coming back to reality after a day of exploring means a chilled glass of Chardonnay in an outdoor shower with a view of  luscious green trees and a dazzling blue sky and finally, a walk down to Sea Street Beach for a picture perfect sunset.  Here’s hoping next summer brings us back here.

shower

Outdoor Shower.

Sunset

Sunset over Cape Cod Bay from Sea Street Beach.

